Search for title, description or article body.

Return to Article List

GRAMMY® Award Winner GUY PENROD Releases a Collection of Classics
Posted: Monday March 20th, 2017

GRAMMY® and GMA DOVE Award-winning recording artistGuy Penrod has just released Classics (Gaither Music Group/Servant Records), a new recording that features some of his most requested hits during his 14-year tenure as lead singer with the Gaither Vocal Band (GVB).

Produced by Penrod, the new collection contains "The Baptism of Jesse Taylor," "The Old Rugged Cross Made the Difference," "Yes, I Know," "Then Came the Morning," "Because He Lives" and more fan favorites that highlight his unmistakable, powerhouse tones.

"I'm glad to have had the chance to sing these songs with the GVB and am really excited to put them together now as a solo collection," stated Penrod, one of gospel music's most celebrated vocalists on the Gaither HOMECOMING Series. "The joy and truth of the tunes and messages in them are timeless and encouraging. I hope they 'crank your tractor,' bring a smile to your face, put a pep in your step and bring peace to your heart."

Classics is the follow-up recording to Penrod's current CD and DVD, LIVE Hymns & Worship (Gaither Music Group/Servant Records), which claimed the No. 1 position on the Southern Gospel chart as well as the No. 2 position on the Contemporary Christian Music chart the week of its release, according to Nielsen Soundscan. The DVD landed at No. 1 on the Christian Music Video chart and No. 1 on the Billboard Music Video chart.

Classics , positioned in retail/e-tail outlets everywhere, is being advertised as part of a TV special on DISH TV, DIRECTV, Gaither Television Network, TBN, RFD-TV, FamilyNet, CTN, GMC, GMTN, Guardian, Liberty, TCT and TLN. It is airing in Canada onVision TV, CTS, The Miracle Channel and Hope TV.

Classics CD Song Listing:

  1. Singing with the Saints
  2. Loving God, Loving Each Other
  3. Alpha and Omega
  4. Knowing You'll Be There
  5. The Old Rugged Cross Made the Difference
  6. I'm Forgiven
  7. Count on Me
  8. Yes, I Know
  9. Then Came the Morning
  10. The Baptism of Jesse Taylor
  11. Build an Ark
  12. Because He Lives

(Produced by Guy Penrod)

Guy Penrod's music is available at your local Canadian Christian retailer.